Dale Jarrett  2011

The Newton-Conover, N.C., native earned his first NASCAR Cup Series victory in August 1991 at Michigan International Speedway in a car owned by the famed Wood Brothers. Jarrett captured 3 Daytona 500 victories in his career. In his career Jarrett won a total of 32 Cup races.  Dale Jarrett won the NASCAR Cup Championship in 1999.
Born the son of NASCAR legend, Ned Jarrett, Dale’s path to NASCAR stardom appeared inevitable, as a passion for racing fueled Jarrett’s ambition early in his career. If not for his desire to race cars, Jarrett’s career easily could have detoured down the path of another sport. Jarrett was star athlete at Newton-Conover High School, excelling in football, basketball, baseball and golf. [more…]


Richard Childress  2008

NASCAR team owner won 6 Winston Cup championships with Dale Earnhardt behind the wheel, 11 total championships, the Busch Grand National championship in 2001 and the Truck Series title in 1995.  Childress drove his own car from 1969 – 1981 and had six top-five and 76 top-10 finishes. [more…]


* Buck Baker  1992

One of the dominant race car drivers in the early years of Winston Cup racing. Won 46 events, including three Southern 500’s. Captured the 1952 NASCAR championship series and the 1956 Winston Cup points title. [more…]


* Dale Earnhardt  1994

Kannapolis native was one of the all-time top drivers on the NASCAR circuit. Winner of the 1998 Daytona 500 and 7-time Winston Cup champion. Won 76 races and $41 million in 26-year NASCAR career. [more…]


Ned Jarrett  1990

Among the leading all-time winners on the NASCAR Winston Cup circuit, and a two-time Grand National Champion. Prominent announcer for racing’s television and radio networks. Four-time winner of the Myers Award for contributing the most to auto racing. [more…]


Junior Johnson  1992

Won 50 NASCAR races in 14 years as a driver. Later, as team owner, his cars dominated the Winston Cup circuit for many years. Only person named to National Motorsports HOF as both driver and owner. Named by Sports Illustrated as greatest NASCAR driver of all time. [more…]


* Lee Petty  1966

One of stock car racing pioneers, father of Richard and grandfather of Kyle. Won three NASCAR Grand National titles as a driver and in one 12-year period never finished lower than sixth. Voted NASCAR’s most popular driver three times. [more…]


Richard Petty  1973

Stock car racing’s undisputed King, one of those most responsible for sport going national. First driver to win $1 million. Seven-time Winston Cup champion, won 200 races before retiring. Now owns and runs own racing team. [more…]


* Herb Thomas  1992

Won 48 NASCAR Grand National races in seven years, including three Southern 500s. In 1951 was Grand National champion and Driver of the Year. Won a second Grand National crown before serious injury ended career in 1959. [more…]


H.A. “Humpy” Wheeler  2004

Lowe’s Motor Speedway has been under the direction of president and general manager H.A. “Humpy” Wheeler since 1975. Utilizing his innovative style of entertainment promotion and his extensive motorsports background, Wheeler has helped transform the 1.5-mile superspeedway into one of the world’s leading sports facilities. [more…]