skip navigation

Wyndham Championship Earns "Great Moments in NC Sports History"

By NC Museum of History Press Release, 03/05/19, 10:15AM EST


An iconic golf tournament which has been part of the North Carolina sports scene for 80 years...

An iconic golf tournament which has been part of the North Carolina sports scene for 80 years has officially been named to the “The Great Moments in North Carolina Sports History” series by the North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame.

The Wyndham Championship has been a constant on the North Carolina sports landscape since 1938 and has annually attracted the game’s greatest players while at the same time having an enormous charitable impact on the Piedmont Triad.  It will be honored as part of the NCSHOF’s ceremonies for the newest class of inductees on Friday, May 3, at the Raleigh Convention Center.

World Golf Hall of Famer Sam Snead won the inaugural tournament. The Virginian, who leads the PGA TOUR in career victories, would go on to win what was then called the Greater Greensboro Open a total of eight times in four different decades.

Davis Love III, a member of the 2019 induction class joining the NCSHOF this year, is a three-time winner of the tournament. The two-time Ryder Cup captain’s most recent victory came in 2015 – 23 years after his first -- when he was 51 years old.

Other winners of the event include Ben Hogan, Byron Nelson, Gary Player, Seve Ballesteros, Raymond Floyd, Lanny Wadkins, Sandy Lyle and Brandt Snedeker, who picked up his second win last year. The 80th Wyndham Championship will be played August 1-4 at Sedgefield Country Club.

The Great Moments series debuted in 2011. Among the previous honorees are, the 1957 North Carolina Tar Heels’ undefeated national championship men’s basketball team (2011); track star Jim Beatty’s 1962 sub-four minute indoor mile run (2012); the Carolina Hurricanes’ 2006 Stanley Cup championship (2012); N.C. State’s hiring in 1946 of Everett Case as its men’s basketball coach (2013); the Wolfpack’s 1974 men’s basketball national championship team (2013); the creation of Pinehurst Resort and the building of the famed Pinehurst No. 2 course (2014), recognized in conjunction with the 2014 men’s and women’s U.S. Opens, and coach Jesse Haddock and the Wake Forest golf program of the 1970’s and ‘80’s (2015).